Looking for a cost effective XY stereo mic..

scottmd06

I'd like to find a decent, cost effective stereo mic for when I'm catching room ambiance. I like the fact that I wouldnt have to sit there and make sure I have two small diaphragm mics aimed in a perfect XY and could simply set up a stereo mic.. Any favorites out there?

The Rode NT4

Or the Avantone CK-40 for the same price but many, many more options. This is a must for all microphone lockers!

Last edited:
CK40... $600? really guys??? I said cost effective! lmao are you just being sausages cause I'm a noob here??

+1 for the Rode NT4. Which I've seen for $200-ish on craigslist.

If you're open to MS instead, the Shure VP88 is worth a look too. But still a bit pricey new-ish. Otherwise just get a Zoom H1, H2, H4n, or other all-in-one things that come that way.

CK40... $600? really guys??? I said cost effective! lmao are you just being sausages cause I'm a noob here??

This is cost effective - most good stereo microphones are in the $3,000 to $10,000 class.

ok im looking in the $50 to $200 range lol

At this price range is really rubbish class except for one or two.

I would say that the Rode NT-4 is probably the best, but it's awkward and expensive to windshield if you want to take it outdoors - indoors it's fine.

For outdoors look at the small Beyer stereo as it is a simple tube it's easier to windshield.

Both of these are at the top of your budget range, though.

But these are the very cheapest I would look at.

+1 for the Rode NT4. Which I've seen for $200-ish on craigslist.

If you're open to MS instead, the Shure VP88 is worth a look too. But still a bit pricey new-ish. Otherwise just get a Zoom H1, H2, H4n, or other all-in-one things that come that way.

This would have to be the thought of the day Scott! Are you against purchasing used?

The Rode used at $200. isn't bad at all! And I've seen the CK-40 used at Guitarcenter.com for $250. !!!

This may have to be the way to go. ;)