Looking for a 4-track recorder... Need advice!

thefanbelow

Hey everyone, I am an acoustic guitarist.. mostly do fingerpicking or light strumming just me my acoustic and some vocals. I currently have a shure 57, a mxl 990 and 991, a m audio pre amp and record on garageband... very modest gear. my music is more on the "lo-fi" sound as it sounds better IMO with more grit than studio polish. I have a limited budget, around $500 and was thinking about getting a new pre-amp because my 57 wont drive without hiss as the m audio has basically no gain and maybe a better condenser. i've been suggested a 4 track because my music has the sound (of course, completely different talent) of iron & wine, elliott smith, bon iver, neutral milk hotel.. stuff like that. curious what people would suggest, and what 4 track they think? i've been told a tascam 424mkii would be perfect for me. thanks. also, if anyone wants any reference, not to plug myself, but if you search "the circumference" on soundcloud, i'm there

I'm an acoustic guitarist as well and I think you might want to reconsider the Tascam 424mkii. In the first place, you'll be dealing with a machine that is now obsolete in terms of technology and repairability. In the second place, on the budget you indicate, you have so many more options.
I've been doing home recording for over 30 years and the problem with using a lo-fi setup is that that is the best sound you will ever be able to achieve. I've been using a Zoom R8 for the past 8 months and consider it one of the best purchases I've made. For more information, I recommend the review I posted on harmony-central.com: Recording & Production: Zoom R8: Swiss Army Knife of Multitrackers | Harmony Central