Live Drum Recording :)

JPlush76

Hey all, I've read through about 19 pages of drum threads in here and haven't come to any surefire solutions to live drum recording. hehe

I've seen 3,4, and more mic ideas.. unfortunately most of the mp3 samples aren't up anymore on the old threads

I have a kick mic, sm57 and bunch of 58's and a shure KSM27 condenser mic

12x12 semi padded practice room with 5 piece drum kit

should I rent another condenser and do two overheads?

what have your best results come from? I'm recording them into a tascam 788 digital porta studio

There is no surefire solution. A lot depends on what sound your looking for.

Do you want a tight close miced sound?
Do you want that Led Zep sound?
Do you want a light jazzy sound?
Going for a rock arena sound?
Is it important for you to have a wide stereo seperation?
etc.......etc.....

well I'd kill for the drum sound of the deftones :o
if your familiar with that

but I think any decent drum sound will do, I'm a newb still so it will take a bunch of trial and error to figure out what I'm really lookin for I guess.. plus I'm not a drummer :)

Eric54 said:
This might help you out. It's a link to an interview with Terry Date. It has a little bit of info on how he records the drums.[/url]

yeah, all that you need is a couple of thousand dollars in Neumann mics and you're all set!!

seriously though, I prefer a stereo pair of Overhead condensers, a kick mic, and a snare mic. seems you have the kick and snare covered - if you could rent another ksm27 you'd be set.

...with good mic positioning (and decent mics (which the ksm27s are), the OHs pick up enough toms to not need to close mic them....but it's all in what you want really

I'm not too familiar with the Deftones...so I don't know what their drum sound is like...

JPlush76 said:
Hey all, I've read through about 19 pages of drum threads in here and haven't come to any surefire solutions to live drum recording. hehe