Listen to my bass track...

SKYflyer

Ok I just finished recording and EQing a bass sample. I'm kind of new at recording, so I'm not sure if this is a decent sound.

My setup:
Ampeg bass amp into Presonus Firebox, with Sonar Cakewalk. The clips that have the bass amp mic'd are using an SM 57 (not the best for a bass amp, I know, but I would still think it could yield usable recordings).

Here is the raw direct out of the bass amp:

Here is the raw clip of the bass amp mic'd:

Now, I do not have the best speakers (I don't even have monitors), but on my regular computer speakers, these clips don't appear to be sounding great. They sound ok at soft volumes, but when I turn it up, the really distort the speakers and make it sound as if it were clipping, even though it is not. Is this normal behaviour for a raw bass recording to sound this way?

I managed to alleviate much of the problem by putting a bit of EQ and compression on the raw recordings above, but I am concerned that if I got a bad raw recording, I could be getting an even better sound without needing to use so much EQ and compression had I recorded it better.

Here is the direct out of the bass amp with EQ and compression:

Here is the bass amp mic'd with EQ and compression:

So, to my ears, these edited clips sound usable and decent to me. Would you guys agree? And is it normal for the raw recordings to sound so bad and to badly distort my speakers at even not very loud volume levels like they did for me?

To me, the raw tracks sound way better than the processed ones, I'm afraid. My guess would be that your computer speakers can't handle uncompressed low frequencies at higher volume levels very well. The raw tracks are definitely usable, though.

They sound fine to me. EQ and compression will probably need to be readjusted once you get them in a mix.