Linking Electric drum kit to EZ Drummer using a Midi Keyboard Issues

Pacman454

Hey Guys, I'm a newbie to the forum. Maybe some of you have experienced and hopefully solved this problem already

I'm using an Roland Electric Drumkit daisy chained through my Akai MPK Midi Keyboard to control EZ DRummer. It all works pretty well and is a lot more fun than programming beats or using EZ drummer preset grooves.

One Problem I'm having is Latency.

My setup current setup I use a pod x3 as my soundcard. This does not have any midi inputs though. :wtf:

So I also have the Midi keyboard going through another usb port; then the EDrum Kit hooked up to the Keyboard using a midi Cable

Question is: .. Does this Daisy Chaining add to the Latency?

If it does I will probably have to get another interface which accepts midi directly.
OR
Would one of those cheap Midi to usb adaptors do a better Job? ...Any Recommendations appreciated :)

Yeah, your convoluted setup is probably causing your latency problems.

Adding a USB to midi cable should be functiontally the same as a new interface which has midi ports built in so if you're looking for a cheap fix to your problem that's probably the way to go.

Dunno which --- if any --- of my fave mail order merchants serves you there in the UK, but I'm sure you know some good ones.

I didn't think that MIDI had any sort of latency itself. I could be wrong tho. Not really my gig.

What DAW are you using? Have you tried lowering the buffer settings of your interface?

MIDI can have some latency, but I don't think I've ever had a situation where it was enough to be noticeable/cause a problem. It is more likely to be the actual digital audio latency. Do you notice the delay if you try to trigger EZDrummer directly from the USB keyboard?

I think I have a solution to this guys. Thanks to the Advice of a guy working in a music Store.

I have yet to try it though but here it goes: