Levels swishing in and out during mastering??

pod4477

So i used the mastering tutorial here
http://www.har-bal.com/mastering_process.php

after doing all it says i got a good sounding master but during parts of it it will sound like a swishing or sweeping of either mids and lows or volume or soemthing. i cant figure it out. maybe im just tired and hearing things but does anyone know why this might happen??

i followed it pretty well except i got a little confused around the part where it says "Figure 12 Grab the "Master Attack" Button and slowly move upwards until there is some stability in the first two bands of the orange dynamics line."

and "Figure 13 Now grab the "Master Release" button and slowly move upwards until the first two bands are almost horizontal in movement."

i cant figure out what they mean by the first two bands. do they mean under the orange and green dots??

haha...thanks for all your help guys!

Ooo gotta love Harbals catch phrase.
"We give eyes to the ears"
Why do we even need our ears if we have Har-Bal?
I might sell mine on E-bay and buy Har-Bal with the money.

Eck

Sounds like you should be leaving what you call "mastering" to someone else.

dude, lock this thread now before you get ripped apart.

heed this warning!! the war is coming!

i feel like this is a part of The lord of the rings..

TragikRemix said:
dude, lock this thread now before you get ripped apart.

heed this warning!! the war is coming!

i feel like this is a part of The lord of the rings..

"There is no curse in Elvish, Entish, or the tongues of Men for this treachery." - Treebeard

The only part of that Hair Ball tutorial that is correct:
If you master your next project better than the last, you are only getting better. Get used to it. You will discover on a daily basis the real concept of mastering and the real reason why there are no perfect settings that can be used with every song.

The trick is to listen to a song completely and KNOW which tools to use.