Latency in headphones with vocal track

Jae

I'm new at this recording thing as far as using a computer goes. I've been playing with two different softwares so far (Vagas & Audacity) and when I speak into the mic, there's a slight delay. So I don't think it's the software. I've been searching on line for a solution. Figured I would join a forum to search for more answers. Here's the breakdown of what I'm doing.
-I'm currently using Audacity.
-I'm using a usb cord for the mic into the computer.
-I'm using Windows 8.
-There is a delay in the headphones but the signal on the meter seems to be dead on when I "check" the mic.
Anybody got any ideas?

I'm new at this recording thing as far as using a computer goes. I've been playing with two different softwares so far (Vagas & Audacity) and when I speak into the mic, there's a slight delay. So I don't think it's the software. I've been searching on line for a solution. Figured I would join a forum to search for more answers. Here's the breakdown of what I'm doing.
-I'm currently using Audacity.
-I'm using a usb cord for the mic into the computer.
-I'm using Windows 8.
-There is a delay in the headphones but the signal on the meter seems to be dead on when I "check" the mic.
Anybody got any ideas?

Several. Trade the usb mic in for a "proper" one and an audio interface. If you want a make and model: Steinberg UR22.
That interface comes with a cut down but still very powerful version of Cubase a much better DAW than Audacity for general recording purposes.

Yes, this will entail the expenditure of some $200 or so but that is about the inescapable minimum for good quality computer recording.

And my final idea? Read! The stickies here and pay particular attention to matters of "latency" and "zero latency monitoring".

Dave.