laptop advice -not Mac

t2roc

Sorry Im new at this Can I ask a ? Im also looking to go the laptop route -not Mac. for the 1,000-2,000 price range.

Im looking for a simple setup that can record min. 2 mics guitar and vocal.

Up til now Ive been thinking of avoiding a mixer by getting a audio interface with preamps like The E-MU® 1820M which comes with software to boot.
Any advice on Hareware. ie. laptops or audio interface much appreciated.
cheers Michel

Fastest processor you can get your hands on, at least 1024 RAM and a large harddrive. In fact, get an external harddrive for your audio tracks.

WHy are you avoiding Mac? With taht budget you can buy a decent second hand power book that's 100% better than any PC. I mean, Mac are designed for audio/video/graphic applications. Once you put your hand on Apple, you'llnever want to turn your head to PCs. Go to a Mac store and test one!

Er... I said the same as you a year ago.. "I just wanna record a track or two" Ha, once I started recording I want more and more... It's like a drug. You want to experiment everything... try to record a bass, maybe a keyboad, use differetn setups, go direct, double mic the amp, etc. Believe me, think big. Why go on a cheap setup when you can go for a decent but affordable gear. That's my advice.

*Mental note: Buy more RAM*

killthepixel said:
With taht budget you can buy a decent second hand power book that's 100% better than any PC. I mean, Mac are designed for audio/video/graphic applications. Once you put your hand on Apple, you'llnever want to turn your head to PCs. Go to a Mac store and test one!

Please get off your "u need a mac" crusade, this is like the third thread you are pitching that shit. Not everyone cares for mac's and he specifically asked for advice on a non-mac. You would think there was a spell check on "taht" mac you so dearly adore. Besides he could get a Mac pro for under $2k

Now back on topic: