Korg D12, Tascam 788 Or Fostex Vf16

SSgtP

In the next couple of months, I plan to purchase a digital recorder. I THINK I've nailed it down to either the Korg d12, the Tascam 788 or the Fostex VF16. Any advise on which one I should choose(and why) would be greatly appreciated. I'm not very computer literate, so I don't think computer based recording is my bag, but I'll listen to anyone's advise.

Thanks
P

yo, p
i am also a newbie & looking @ the same stuff for future purchase, but i have read about each of these (& some others) in a number of magazines and catalogs- the deal is this:
it kinda depends on what you wanna get out of it.
some of these workstations have relatively small storage space on them, forcing you to back up on other equipment.
that may or may not be an issue for you- look into it before purchase.
another thing to consider is whether or not you will be doing any midi work.
if so, the computer workstation is the way to go, because your editing abilities will be WWWAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYY BETTER!
also, some workstsations may have integral effects while others may not.
like i said, it kinda depends on what you wanna do.
also, there are user forums by BRAND on this site- you might spend some time reading those.
maybe someone else with more experience will also reply.
:)

Korg d12 Is the best Hard disc setup amoung those three.

I havent heard the fostex yet but im told that they don't sound near as good as the korg or the tascam.

gervis,

thanks for taking the time to respond. Your right, I think computer based recording offers allot better editing control, at least from what I've read. I won't be using much midi at all though, so I think a stand alone will do me just fine. The Tascam forum on this BB doesn't seem to have many post's about the 788. I don't know if that is good or bad. Thanks.

darrin,