Keyboards and Sound Modules

Disco_Dave

I am a bassist who has in the last few years has got into recording my own stuff, however I am starting to feel restricted by the range of sounds I have at my disposal.

What I need to know is for a relative beginner (recording wise) what is the best way to get some new sounds, is it to buy a keyboard with lots of sounds on it or get a keyboard and buy sound modules?

What I's also like to know is what sort of keyboard do i need to play sounds from modules or samplers? Will any keyboard do it or do I need a midi keyboard?

I know these are basic questions but I have been unable to find simple explanations anywhere else. If anyone can help or has a link to a site that can help i would be very grateful.

I suggest getting a small MIDI controller (usually $100-150) and a cheap, good module like the Yamaha MU50. A setup like this will run you under $200 used and will allow you to pick up other relatively inexpensive used modules and try out many different types of sounds. I like the variety of different modules to chose from for creativity's sake, but the cheap, used Yamaha module sounds are a good realistic sounding place to start. Also, check out the whole MU series and the Roland JV series too.

Definitely go used at first, you can likely sell the stuff at what you got it for if you don't like it. Ebay is great!

Thank you very much for your response, I was expecting to get flamed for that sort of question!

So a midi keyboard is what I need to play back the sounds from modules then? That was really my main question and I think you answered it. Then a normal keyboard is one that has sounds built into it already? I could have gone into a shop and asked but i have to admit i was embararassed to admit my ignorance to someone face to face!

I have never used e-bay...seems that now is a good time to start! I always like to try and buy cheap to strat off with until you know that you are going to use something.

Thanks again.