keyboard vs synth

dan_studio_man

hey..i'm a newbie in the home recording thing...so please excuse the fact that this question will probably make most of you laugh. whats the difference between a keyboard and a synthesizer?

There are no hard and fast rules for what is cheaper based on synthesis. Some synths are cheaper than say, a digital piano and some electronic keyboards are less expensive than some synths.

Carl

The terms "synth" and "keyboard" are usually used interchangeably. A keyboard can be a synth, and a synth can be a keyboard. Many keyboard have the ability to play back more than just ROM, in other words will have RAM on board for loading sounds. And many many keyboards allow full programming of sounds.

Perhaps what you are getting at is the difference between a keyboard that's a piano/electric piano/organ synth, and a keyboard that also has a much wider variety of sounds. The keyboards that are specialized on piano/organ/ep often have something to that effect in their name. Just calling thdm a keyboard will not distinguish them from other keyboards of a different type.

Basically, if they are electronic they are a synthesizer, as they are electronically synthesizing the sound. So whether it be piano, strings, pads, whatever, it's synthesized.

ok... here's my limited understanding.

Keyboard --- basically an input device (think of your computer keyboard). The term "Keyboard" in our current context refers to any of the piano type instrumanets (pianos, organs, synthesizers, electronic keyboards etc.)

Synthisizer --- as was stated allows you to create sounds.
Sampler ---- allows you to Record sounds (take a sample). and play back from the keyboard.

subtractor,what exactly do you mean by "very large member"?

would that be your head?
..or your ass?

skyy38 said:
subtractor,what exactly do you mean by "very large member"?

would that be your head?
..or your ass?

It's my cock dumbshit...