Keeping track of tracking tracks

I'm embarrassed to ask....
I've been recording my band for several years now, but always "Live" on a Tascam DP24. I mix at home with Sonar. This week, for the 1st time, we'll be individually multi-tracking straight to Sonar.
My question is how do you keep track of all the different versions of each track? When we've recorded in the past, we've done it as a group and either trashed or kept the entire take. If we wanted to keep a take but try again, we'd just start a new session. This week I'll be recording everyone individually. If, for example, I want to keep 4 versions of the drum kit (4 mics), would I keep 16 tracks? How do you keep track of which tracks are keepers? Do you just take copious notes?
Thanks!!
-j

Well...notes certainly do help...but you can also just do a bunch of takes, name them accordingly...xxxxxx01, xxxxxx02...etc...and then when you are done tracking, sit down and listen to them all one at a time, and at that point decide what to keep.

Unless you need to churn out a rough finished mix by the end of the tracking sessions, there's really no reason to decide which ones to keep for later. I mean, you don't want to do 100 takes and then go through them, but you can certainly do 3-5 keeper takes and decide afterwards which to keep.
I think everyone can tell pretty quickly if a take was a total stinker, and you just want to delete it and do another one. :)

I try not to bury myself in lots of keeper takes that I have to then sift through. For important stuff, like vocals, etc...I'll do at most five keeper takes, and then sort it it from there...other key tracks I might do a couple of keeper takes...and the rest, I'll just do a bunch of passes, and only have one keeper take.
I mean...you can do 100 passes/takes....but you don't need to keep them all to pick from later on.

The real key is to practice and get it all sorted out before you ever hit REC...that way you won't need a lot takes. ;)