JV-1080 controled by M-Audio Radium49

Masters Of War

I have no experience with controlers, but the idea seems interesting and much more flexable. Would a Radium49 work well as a controler for a JV-1080 or should I just go for an XP-30? What would be the pros and cons between these two setups? Sorry for posting so many threads in this forum, I got a lot of questions and keep zig zagging on what I want to get. Any help would be awesome, thanks.

Depends on what you want to do. The XP30 is a little light on front panel controls (menu hopping does not count) so a controller will be helpful about equally for both the KB and rack versions. Are you trying to just control the synth or you looking for a surface to program it?

If I buy the xp-30 I probably won't buy the controler (don't have space for two keyboards). What I mean is what are the pros and cons of having the jv1080 module controled by a radium49 (or any other controler, the radium49 is just the paticular controler I've been looking at) vs. just using the xp-30 alone? I'm not very familiar with midi or synths, is a controler just as competent at controling a set of sounds from a module as a keyboard specificaly designed to control the sounds within it? Are the sounds mainly controled and edited through the module or through the controler keyboard?

I would not pick the Radium (unless it supports sysex) but yeah, a control surface is nice. I'm mainly a rackmount synth guy so for me it is almost required since none of them have anything close to usefull interfaces and software controllers do not cut it for me.