Just starting out - what mics to buy first?

adrianhouse

Hello all,

I'm a beginner just in the mental stages of setting up a minimal studio at home (I think I'm buying a TEAC 3340 tape deck today - good idea?). I will be recording power pop (vocs, guitar, bass, drums), pretty basic. Think I can get by with two mics? Tight budget:)! In terms of vocals, what's the difference between the sound of a condenser and dynamic mic? I want to try to get a live-sounding recording, something like the Ramones' first album. Thanks in advance for your advice!

Adrian

A tape deck? Like a multi-channel tracking tape deck or just a tape deck?

Also, what is your actual budget for these mics? I'd go with a couple of decent dynamics. You might be able to get away with just two SM57's. Even better, you could get an SM57 and a couple of SDC's (Naiant MSH-1's, check 'em out) for the drum overheads.

SM57 used = $65ish
Naiant MSH-1 = $26 or so

Total = $117

The 3340

Hi,

The 3340 is a vintage piece of prosumer four-track open reel tape deck. Back in the seventies it was what everyone really wanted because it was the only consumer four track solution. This deck will definitely deliver that analog sound.

I believe it has 1/4 inch high impedance mic inputs and line inputs. A couple of DMP3 preamps would work good with this deck and allow you to use modern condensor mics with phantom power and low impedance cables. Or maybe one preamp and a couple of mics that will work with the deck.

Like the Shure 588 series of microphones. These high impedance precursors to the SM58 would work well with the 3340. The EV mics from that era are all selectable for low or high impedance. The Audio Technica MB4000c is a battery powered condensor mic that can talk to a high impedance input.