Just got a Tascam 388 for Free

Carbona

So I was in NY this weekend, and sleeping on the floor at a friend's house...I woke up, groggy and noticed something big under his couch...something with knobs and meters...so I pulled it out and nearly shit myself when I saw what it was...a 388 (very dusty one) was stowed away...so I asked him about it, told him I'd buy it from him for a few hundred bucks, and to my surprise and delight, he just says "oh, you can have it...the guy that used to live here couldn't bring it with him to California because it was too heavy, it's just in the way all the time..." so I've pretty much been happier than a pig in slop for 3 days now...finally got it home today, it's extremely dusty, but everything lights up so far and the heads look ok, but I'm still a complete newb to recording...I've got a tascam 238 that I've been recording on for a few years, but never owned a reel-to-reel.

Now for a Few questions...

---If I take a vacuum cleaner (with a hose attachment) and suck all the dust away, is there any electronics that may be damaged from doing this? There are also some crumbs and paint chips inside the tape compartment that I'd like to vacuum up too, but I just don't wanna screw anything up.

--I've tried to test the VU meters, but can only get the odd numbered ones to work for some reason, and while talking into the mic, the levels are registering, but nothing is coming through the headphones (except an extremely low level hiss of course). Is there something I'm missing here?
I read a few threads about assigning the channels and panning them left and right, so I'll try that for now.

--Are the preamps that are built in to this thing tube preamps?

--Anyone have a spare manual lying around ;)

--Anybody live in the Atlanta, GA area know where a good tascam repair/service shop is? I checked on their site, but the search was screwy and wouldn't display any results.