Just got a Tascam 32 and I'm wondering

Deaaaath

Sorry if this question gets asked a lot around here, but I'm not very good at using the search function successfully so...
I just received a Tascam 32 in the mail today, and everything appears to be in good shape... but I'm pretty ignorant when it comes to the specifics of this stuff and I was wondering if it should be standard protocol to bring the unit into my local Tascam repair center (just ten minutes away!) for a check up on calibration and allignment?

If you are not sure how to do it yourself...then it wouldn't hurt, especially after a road trip.

That would be a great thing to do. As long as they are reputable. It can take a while to fully set up a machine, so dont be surprised if it will cost a bit. If they have a fresh test tape I think a fair price would be about $150.
VP

I think it's a good idea to have it checked out , but I would at least check the functions and sound out for yourself to hear what it sounds like. As Pete said it can get to be a little pricey when getting things back to specs so keep that in mind. If you don't mind me being nosy, what was the price with shipping? I ask this because I have been looking on junkbay for a 32 and will soon make the plunge. The 32 will go well with my 38. Thanks.

I recently bought a Tascam 38 and it came in pieces (almost), some bent damage from shipping, etc. I fixed most of it myself: capstan belt, pinch roller, table height adjustment.

It seems to record and playback fine but I have not had it calibrated or aligned yet. I just started testing levels on the deck.

The repair shop wants $170 here (Chicago area) to calibrate/align, but I think I'm going to learn the procedures myself.

Diy

I recently bought a Tascam 38 and it came in pieces (almost), some bent damage from shipping, etc. I fixed most of it myself: capstan belt, pinch roller, table height adjustment.