Just getting Started

Kato

Hello all, (sorry a little bit of a lengthy post but I've got a lot of info to cover :)

I'm just getting started in the realm of digital recording and at this point I'm shopping for equipment. I was wondering if anyone had any good advice on a few things.

First of I didn't come to this decision lightly. After realizing I've spent near $50,000+ in recording studios spanning over my musical career. I'm sure that amount will near triple by the time I'm done. SO it seemed logical to me just to build my own studio so I don't get soaked by studios in the future... Especially since our record company just shelved us, so we have to pay for everything on our own again.

I'll let you all know where I'm at right now. I'm going to be running this all off my home comp. system. First I've got a P2 350 128 megs ram. About 5 gigs free space and I just bought a new sound card, a AudioWerk8 by Emagic. Unfortunately I've got a IDE board instead of a SCSI board so no advanced red book audio for me, but I can make do. Recording apps. I think I'll be using Logic Audio if not TripleDAT. I've actually got an arsenal of audio software but no hardware. For a board I'm thinking about a Tascam TD-M1000 (any opinions on that?). And for miking I've got a good connection on Shure mikes for a good price, though not the greatest for everything, it's got the best bang for the buck :)

But I'm also looking into monitors, that I have no clue on what's good what's not for a reasonable price range. Any suggestions?

Also I'm not sure how to get all this to jive together. Any knowledge there?

I really want to have this up and running within the next couple of months.