Just getting in to this, need a bit of direction/feedback

Che Frone

hook me up with a listen, eh? a unique sound, need feedback

Hey, I'm new to this board. I've been rapping and making beats for a few months but only recently have I decided to actually record anything. So far I've gotten positive reviews from my friends, but now im looking for some unbiased voices to really tell me what I need to improve on. I used some really shitty equipment for the "Walrus" song, and upgraded before I recorded the other one ("The Beat In My Head").

I now have an AKG Perception 100 condenser microphone with an M-box and Protools. My sound card is whatever comes standard with a dell inspiron.

My Songs

I'm looking for any advice whatsoever, be it on my recording technique, mixing technique, rapping technique, etc.

Thanks

Last edited:
I tried to listen to this at home yesterday morning and the link wouldn't work... What gives?

fixed

that's odd, it works for me. I'll post a direct link. Ill try to fix this.

The site is www.chefrone.cjb.net

will try and check it out..

and welcome the the HR.com fam

stay active and network

Ok, your link is working for me.

First things first... this beat, to me, is wack. Just being honest. The synths in it are really corny, the mix is horrible, and it's borderline annoying.

Lyrically... your hook is catchy, and easy to follow. The vocal quality is ok, but not great. Talking about Crip walking on this beat is like Neal Diamond doing a collab with Snoop Dogg... it just ain't right.

Truthfully, this is on some other type of stuff. I can't really feel it. Keep doing your thing.

Okay... This might be rough.. But don't worry... It's all CONSTRUCTIVE critism... Just be patient with what I say..

TAKE DOWN THAT FRIGGIN' BANNER ON YOUR WEBSITE
"CHE FRONE MOTHAFUCKA'!" <-------this one!

Okay so some kid would dig your stuff but he can never go to your page cause his mom is right over his shoulder ... He has headphones though! ;)

Walrus: