just an excited analog newbie

skullfisher

I've been recording with pro tools for about six years now and finally made the jump to analog. it's the sound I was going for originally but assumed analog was too difficult to learn, too expensive, and the experts are few and far between these days.

well all my digital stuff is in storage now and I've been doing my first few recordings... and I'm so happy with my decision. I got some flack from peers, who think I'm 'downgrading'... when they hear my next recordings they will change their mind!

the tone is amazing, so big and round and smooth. the instruments 'sit' together better, there's none of the weird imaging of digital. I used to work so hard trying to get around these issues in the digital domain.

it's even cheaper these days to go analog these days. and if you do it right, the sound quality is better (imho).

of course analog brings a whole set of problems that you don't have in the digital world. and you don't have the ease of non-linear editing. whatever. so far I don't miss it. and I tell ya, my 'weekend' recordings sound so rich and smooth... it would take me much longer to get to that same point tracking and mixing in the box.

what's my point?

I'm not saying either is better than the other, I'm not trying to start an analog vs. digital debate. I'm just excited about this area of audio engineering and pleased with my decision to go analog! working with tape is a very satisfying, rewarding experience.

I know it's not for everybody, but if you're curious about it, I say try it and see if its for you. you may be pleasantly surprised, as I was.

Velkum

Velkum to Kastle Analogula!

You vill never vant to leave

MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

Seriously, hello from a fellow Tapehead :)

Hmmmm...you raise some good points here. Maybe I'll give it a try, too. But what tape format have you "downgraded" to?

And watch out for Mark when he adopts his Transylvanian accent...

good for you for choosing analog