JL Cooper PPS-1

James HE

a spoonfull weighs a ton
I just got a PPS-1. (ebay for $10.50!) Well not here yet but... Has anybody used this unit? I've never worked with MIDI clock or MTC before so I'm a newbie here. What I'm trying to accomplish is to record to Hard Disk and to casette four track simultaneously, and sync them up later all to disk-

I'm confused cuz I'm not actually sure how this is possible? The striped SMPTE track would be the MASTER to the MIDI clock from my software. So if I fly in the tracks from the four track to the Hard Drive would the tracks still sync up? OR would I have to "bounce" the tracks on disk to new tracks?

Do I have the right idea? Has anyone tried this before? or am I flying into some unknown territory here?

-jhe

I have used the pps-1 and 2. But I was using it for syncing a Korg 01W synth to a TSR-8 8 track. So that, when you hit play on the 8 track, the synth would link/sync up, and give me all the synth's "virtual" tracks in time with what was recorded on the 8 track.

So, in your case, you could use the computer as your virtual tracks, and your 4 track to get 3 additional synced tracks with track 4 striped - somehow syncing it to the midi clock in your multitrack software. From here I guess you could route the 4 track and soundcard outputs into your mixer and mix down to 2 tracks. Or you could send the 3 tracks back into a multi-input soundcard, and I suppose they would sync to the virtual tracks you already had down? I think this is possible, interested if you get it to work, and whether it would sync well enough with tape drift and what not!

After looking at jlcoopers web site, I think I was using there "smart FSK" for striping, but I can't remember for sure.