Is this an example of bad remastering...

Mr songwriter

..Or is there actually something wrong with the CD? - I'd heard this album (presumably a different pressing of it?) a few years ago and liked it, so when I saw it for only £4 the other day I bought it. It has been quite a while since I heard it but I was pretty shocked by the amount of distortion I was hearing, at first I thought it was deliberate, but it's on pretty much every track on the album, I ripped a section of it to WAV as an example:

Distortion?

Has anyone got any idea how this happens? surely they shouldn't be putting albums out with this kind of quality.

I also opened it up in Audacity to look at the WAV, and I'm no expert, but it looks like it would be clipping to me.

Attachments

• distorted.JPG
    distorted.JPG
    61 KB · Views: 205
Last edited:
No, that isn't clipped. It's way too bassy for my tastes, but in terms of modern extreme limiting, that is actually rather conservative. Roll off the bass, and it opens up nicely.

:confused: I've played that CD on my PC, 2 portable CD players and a fairly expensive Hi-Fi and the bass levels weren't boosted or anything, but to me it sounds like his voice starts distorting once it gets above a certain level. I tried rolling the bass off a bit like you suggested which helped a bit, but it still sounds like it's clipping to me. A couple of other people that I played it to commented on it too, so I doubt if it's my ears that are the problem.

Mr songwriter said:
:confused: I've played that CD on my PC, 2 portable CD players and a fairly expensive Hi-Fi and the bass levels weren't boosted or anything, but to me it sounds like his voice starts distorting once it gets above a certain level. I tried rolling the bass off a bit like you suggested which helped a bit, but it still sounds like it's clipping to me. A couple of other people that I played it to commented on it too, so I doubt if it's my ears that are the problem.