Is there such a thing as an affordable Strat?

Prism

I'm a beginning guitarist. I look through catalogs and I see Fender Stratocasters. I look at old pictures of the Beach Boys and Buddy Holly and other greats, and I drool when I see their Strats. I want one. I look at the prices. They are a lot. I am a poor cheapskate. Should I just look around? eBay? Maybe I should just settle for a stupid cheap taiwanese fake. :p

Isaiah

Don't buy a cheap guitar. It will end up costing you more money in the long run. Buy a great guitar.
When you spend money on a great guitar, it's an investment.

signed,
hixmix (a musician cursed with the soul of a ruthless businessman)

I'll trust that even a used Strat will stand the test of time? 'Cause my heart is set on owning a good ol' Fender. :D

Isaiah

Hmm...I was hoping for more in the $200-$300 range. If I had $700 to spend, I'd rather save it for a nice Martin acoustic.

Isaiah

Watch for a Cort or Archer strat body and mex fender neck on ebay. That's a $200 strat! Just kiddin'!
I haven't played the G&L's, but they sure are sexy. But with all due respect, to me it's like old motorsickles, in that the new stuff is cleaner design wise, technologicaly advanced, and invariably more dependable. But something's missing. Authenticity perhaps. Just doesn't feel right. Psych isn't tangible, but just try convincing the heart that the brain is on track!
Anyway Prism, in a blind taste test, you might find a $300 Mexican standard set up by a good tech makes you feel as good as a $1000 Stevie Ray.

And Hix is right about a cheapie. It'll sound like hell. And you, being a new player will think it's just you!
Good Luck.

Don't buy cheapy starters. I went through three pieces of crap when I started (~ 1978) before getting fed up and saving for a Les Paul.