Is it the mic?

electricdread

This is my first time doing home recordings so please bare with me.
I am trying to record my song with the fostex mr-8. I am using the zoom mrt-3 drum machine. The drum machine sounds great, but the guitar are REAL LOW. On the track level display the drum machine is showing twice as much as the guitar. I have the amp on a chair and mic and mic stand about 4 inches in fron of the amp. I am using a unidirectional mic. I have a sneaking suspicion That the mic is the problem. It is a dynamic that was given to me a a friend. I think it has seen better days.Is it the microphone? Any suggestions?
Thanks

Your question is kinda like saying "I seem to use too much gas when I drive -- my car's blue -- do you think it's my car that's the problem?"

Telling us what KIND of mic it is and what mic pre you're using it with *might* be helpful....

Ok.SORRY......be gentle please.....I know very little about doing home recordings and even less about mics! Ok, it is a Realistic Highball dynamic microphone unidirectional.

Well - it's definitely not a great mic - and it *could* be the issue. How high do you have the gain up on the preamp (ie - the TRIM controls on the MR-8)?

The trims are there to provide gain for low-level signals.... that mic may not be a very "hot" mic, so you may need a lot of gain from the trim-pots to get a usable signal level (at the expense of increased noise).... if you have to turn it up a lot and the noise becomes too apparent, then you should probably upgrade to at least a Shure SM57 or 58 mic....

From what I recall of most Radio Shack mics, they generally have high self-noise, very low output, and generally sound pretty hideous -- so even if you do get enough gain from the Trims, you may want to upgrade anyways!