Is it possible to do this?

Locking Nut

To give my recording more ooomph I want to try the thing where you rec'd your guitar left, right and down the middle. My question is this: is it possible to bounce a track down from stereo into the left or right? The reason I ask this is that I'm a novice guitarist and my timing sux so it would take ages for me to rec'd the same thing in three tracks correctly. I had a go yesterday on a song and it sounded like I had delay on :)

Also, if you copy the same guitar track into a couple more tracks will that make it sound bigger or will it not make a difference?

It will add about 3dB each time you bounce but nothing else will happen. It's still better to record a new track. If you can't do that, bounce the left track to the right and add reverb, or chorusing, or change the EQ (or do all three) to make the "new" track distinct from the "old" one.

cut copy paste

lpdeluxe said:
It will add about 3dB each time you bounce but nothing else will happen. It's still better to record a new track. If you can't do that, bounce the left track to the right and add reverb, or chorusing, or change the EQ (or do all three) to make the "new" track distinct from the "old" one.

It is possible. I hope someone who really CAN English will explain it better.
I can try, anyway:
You can insert your stereo guitar track several times into your session.
Make sure all of them start at same time. Timing should not be a problem.
CEP helps you a big deal with timing.
You can edit each track separately in edit window and save them as new files.
guitar2; guitar3; etc
You can even highlight only one channel of the stereo track end modify it.
In that way you can get several guitar tracks playing at the same time and sounding different which depends of your editing results.

You should make sure that result is not too loud. There many ways to do that.
Volume control for each track, envelops, editing ..
I'm sure you can do that.