Is cool edit pro really that cool

mattkw80 said:
Wow. Great post / good story.

I use it myself for "post production" type things, like to cut waves, fade in's / fade out's. Normalizing.

Converting Mp3's to Wav's and vice versa.

Why do you convert mp3’s to WAV’s? Or when you do this?

I do it as well but only when I have to.
(When some DVD software wouldn't accept mp3)

Is it possible to get better quality from an mp3 in that way?
I thought, once the file is compressed most of its components is gone for good.

I would appreciate some explanations about this particular issue.
Thanks

chrisharris said:
I'm really famous, and I'm a monster musician, and I use cooledit exclusively.

Okay, only one of the 3 things I just said is true, but regardless, I'd venture to bet that 90% of the edits you hear on the radio are done in cooledit. It's a staple of every radio station I've ever worked with, and there actually have been several.

The reason you hear more about ProTools, in my opinion, is that they aggressively marketed mid-level studios that got scared to death when the digital revolution started. So most "real" studios are ProTools friendly, so most "real" musicians that record outside of the studio use it as well.

Metallica's last album was recorded on ProTools, and it sounds like absolute dogshit, so I put more stock in the process than I do in the processing, pardon the pun.

Good point, but a well produced album will sound better in pro tools than in cool edit. And trust me, theres tons of top radio stations that have pro tools rigs in them.

gasal69 said:
Why do you convert mp3’s to WAV’s? Or when you do this?

I do it as well but only when I have to.
(When some DVD software wouldn't accept mp3)

Is it possible to get better quality from an mp3 in that way?
I thought, once the file is compressed most of its components is gone for good.

I would appreciate some explanations about this particular issue.
Thanks

I only do MP3 to send via email to friends.