Is Bass Guitar hard to play

CJ

Is four string bass hard to play. i am a drummer but i wont to learn a second insment.

Nope. Bass guitar is easy to play. I bought one two weeks ago and have no problems playing it.

... Well, I have played guitar for 40 years. So maybe that's at different angle. Anyway, getting my first bass guitar at 50 is very good fun.

Whether bass guitar is easy or difficult to play depends on the style of music. Some styles are so easy that it must be boring to play the bass, however important those bass notes are for the overall sound of the music. Other styles are so difficult that the skills required are on level with those of a lead guitarist.

Listen to the kind of music you want to play. Does it sound like the bass just playing a few notes over and over and not too quickly? Well, in that case go ahead. If you have musical ability you can pick that up in a few months.

(Hope, I haven't offended any bass players. Music wouldn't be worth listening to without you.)

Tom

if you played guitar you'll never learn how to REALLY play the bass (i'm a guitarplayer too;)) but honestly it's easy as hell to jam with a band but listen to primus and be amazed what a bass can do!

guhlenn

Sure, they say that it shows when guitarists play the bass. They can't help soloing a little. And most of the time that is not needed. Most of the time the bass should not catch the attention. It just there like the floor you walk on. You don't notice unless it's suddenly gone.

The reason I bought a bass guitar in the first place is the same reason I take part in this forum. I want to do some homerecording, some tracks to play along with on my guitar. And I felt a bass guitar sounded a lot better than the synth bass ... even though that can also be fine sometimes.

Tom