Is a seperate mic preamp necessary with a 2488?

old crow

I know it seems like a stupid question, but I'm a newbie here and a newbie at recording. :D
I just bought a 2488 and am now shopping for a nice voc. mic. I've read that a good pre amp is a must w/ a large diaphram condenser mic., but I'd like to know if that applies mostly to d.i. to a computer? In other words is the pre amp section in the 2488 good enough? or should I also consider a seperate mic pre amp. :confused:

Don't worry about it. The preamp is one of the last things you need to worry about. Focus on learning your new tool and perfecting it's use.

Then maybe later you may want to get a few options in the preamp department.

If you have money to blow, you'll see an immediate improvement with a nice preamp and a nice mic. Nice pre as in RNP, Grace Design 101, Safesound P1, Sytek, or higher quality...anything less won't do more that what you already have in the 2488. The new Groove Tubes Brick is getting some good reviews for 400 bucks.

It just depends on what you want to do. If you're just now learning how to record, the advice from jake is about on target. If you're wanting some good sound quality in a hurry and have the bucks, get some extra preamps and some good mics.

Thanks Steve and Jake. I know I should concentrate on learning this machine, but you know how it is :D , So far I'm finding w./o. an outboard preamp or good condenser mike that the vocals are sounding muddy when recording flat and if I use e.q. or the vocal exiter then they really cut through but sound harsh.
I think for now I'd prefer to record vocals flat w/o comp, e.q. or exciter, but get a clearer, warmer thicker sound. That's why I'm thinking a good mike and pre would help.
My budget is around $1k for both. I'm leaning toward the Brick or Ditto, cause I like the idea of a real multi stage tube pre w/ transformer, but I've read that the SP for around $100. is o.k. too :confused: