Is 16 Tracks Enough?

CriticalFix

Hello All,

Sorry, I'm new to recording and this forum....GREAT site!

Is 16 tracks enough to record most vocalist and bands or is upwards of 34 recomended?

Second question....does it take 2 tracks to record stereo or can you accomplish that with one track alone? I have heard sometimes where a guitar will start out on like the left channel and then vocals and other insts. will come in stereo.

Thanks!

...well lets just add up the likely possibilities

drums:
1 snare
1 kick
2 overhead
3 toms

lead guitar 1
rythem guitar 1
bass 1

vocals 1
backup 2

keyboard 1

....that puts it at 14 tracks

I usually end up with 24-28 but that includes a 6 track scratch track... plus my PC starts really choking at 24 tracks

Just my humble opinion but 16 is more than enough. I run a 24 track system and for most bands that I record, 16 is adequate for sure.

golden hits

gold hits were done on 3 track machines once.
so yes , 16 is enough. be carefull of over producing a song.
several of my songs at soundclick.com/bmanning were done
using only 8 tracks. interestingly the ones ive done with fewer tracks like "Raise the flag" , and "Woohoo" have had tons more play than the songs that i used 24 to 32 tracks on.
some have even gone number 1 in their genre like "Hi tech man".
done on 8 tracks with home made mic preamps.
if you force yourself to get good drum mixes up front to a stereo track, you will find you can save a lot. but it takes preparotary effort. "Take my love" - a popular song of mine with lots of plays was done on pro 2 inch 16 track. so yes - 16 tracks is enough.

Stereo effects are accomplished by either micing a source with two mics and recording them to seperate tracks and panning them hard L/R during the mixdown or panning a mono track during the mixdown (that's what the pan knob is for).