Introduction & request for guidance

CWatkinsNash

New here, sort of. I lurked for a while before joining and now I'm finally posting. I'm not new to music, and I'm not really new to recording, but I'm new to doing a proper job of things. :D

I've got a decent little budget-friendly setup going now, as much as I can afford. I think most of my gear is in my sig. I just ordered two new XLR cables because the ones I have are old and have just about been gigged to death. I'm going to build a rack soon, because I can't see how adding rack rails to a cheap laminate box suddenly makes it triple in value, putting it completely out of my grasp. (You would think living in Nashville, Craigslist would be a treasure trove, but everyone seems to be delusional about how much their beat up gear is worth.)

I'm loving Reaper. Best $40 I've spent, without a doubt. I was using Bremmers' MTS until a couple of weeks ago. I was running into walls with it and realized I needed more flexibility, and saw several people on here mention Reaper. My roommate (also a musician) thinks I'm nuts, but assigning colors to the tracks makes a HUGE difference for me. Funny how something as simple as "assign random colors" can battle mixing fatigue. And good news: I seem to do really well with waveforms. It's like art. (Okay, stop laughing back there. :D)

Wow, I'm just rambling all over without making much of a point. Blame it on yesterday's wine. Anyway, I've been recording off and on for years using other peoples' analog castoff equipment, but could never get the stuff to sound good together. I'm a songwriter and former performer, and I really want to make a go of it this time. I've got the basics down, but I still have so much to learn about mixing. I really feel like I've never done this before because I've never been fully digital before. (Which is kind of strange, since I'm such a geek I'm rarely not in front of a computer.)