Introduction and question

CBowling

Hello all,

21 year old college student here who loves music and has been doing his own "simple" recordings for the past couple of years. A couple years back, I bought the Toneport UX2 (the predecessor of the Pod Studio) and I also have the JamVox (though the drivers are glitchy on Windows 7 64bit).

Anyways, to the question:

I've been wanting to improve my studio set up to record GOOD quality recordings. The UX2 and Gearbox by themselves are pretty limited in nature, and though I do have an external boxes (Boss VE-20 for vocals, for example), I feel it's time to move on. My question is, do you guys have any suggestions for what I should be looking at? Price isn't a terrible issue in the long run (I'd have to save for it anyways, on the account I'm a full time student with a 20-30 hour a week job), yet I'd still want to stay somewhere under 1k at the moment.

I was looking at the Tascam 2488 NEO as a possible replacement, as the price of the unit is around what I'm looking at and it has great reviews on sites such as musiciansfriend and sweetwater. However, I am open to suggestions as well.

The type of music I'll be recording will vary from simply me on my acoustic guitar to a whole band set up, with keyboards/synth, drums, guitar, bass, vocals, backing vocals, etc. I have some experience with recording studios and equipment, however, expect me to possibly need clarification on certain things too.

I built my own computer, wanting to give it a good amount of power for recording, while at the same time being able to do the gaming that I sometimes do when I am not at work, school, with friends, or playing music, etc.

Computer Specs:
Windows 7 64bit
8gb of DDR3 RAM
Intel i7 CPU 870 @ 2.93ghz
HD5850 Graphics card

If you guys need any other info, let me know. I hope I addressed any possible questions that you guys may have had regarding the type of recording/capabilities of my recording.