Intro to using Multitracks

M-Skeleton

I have a few, probably stupid questions, about recording with a multitrack. First off I am looking at buying a Teac 38 1/2 inch 8 track, my question is are there panning knobs on the tape machine itself ? I understand that you record into the tape machine, but do you need to send the tracks out in order to pan them? Is this how tape machines work: sending the tracks out to a mixer, or such to pan the tracks and fiddle with the sound?

I have a soundcraft spirit E-12 mixer, will this work if a mixer is needed for panning tracks.

any info would be greatly appreciated as I am new to this.

thank you

The 38 contains no panning controls.

It must be used with a mixer to receive sound and output to a mixer to balance and mix the sound which would include panning channels from left to right on the mixer's channel strips.

As long as your mixer has 8 mono mixing channel strips with pan pots, you can set up a decent mix with it and some outboard gear like a digital reverb and a compressor to tame wilder dynamics going to the deck or coming from it on playback if the recording was too dynamic.

The 38 is basically a component and meant to be part of a system. Items like Portastudios and DAWs are closer to the studio in a box concept.

Cheers! :)

thank you for the info.

I still have a few more questions: how do you send the signals from the tape machine to the mixer? Does the tape machine have eight sends for each track, and are those then sent into the eight inputs on the mixer?

After that is done and the panning is all set, do you play the tape and send it out into a final recorder, say an interface into a computer?

I hope these questions make sense

thank you

M

M-Skeleton said:
thank you for the info.

I still have a few more questions: how do you send the signals from the tape machine to the mixer? Does the tape machine have eight sends for each track, and are those then sent into the eight inputs on the mixer?