Internal Feedback?

s1000

Hi all

Im somewhat new to home recording. I had an MBOX and ProTools a decade or so ago that I used, but since then, nada.

This is my current setup: HP G72 laptop (8GB RAM, Windows 7 x64), M-Audio M-Track Quad, 2 AKG condenser mics, AKG K240 headphones (using an 1/8" to 1/4" adapter for the interface), and Studio One 3.
Also, I know this is rough, but in case it's useful, the screen is currently cracked on the laptop so the visuals are running via VGA to a separate monitor.

The problem: A couple minutes in to recording or playback, I'll hear some clicking, and then some static (by which I mean the sound we might associate with analog, real-world static electricity), and eventually it compounds in to a full-volume screech. It behaves a lot like feedback you'd get in a live setting. Also, even after closing the program, the sound will persist.

So far, I've made sure the software bit rate matches the interface bit rate (sorry if I messed up the terminology there), disabled the laptop speakers, and made sure the wi-fi was disconnected(?).
Also, the only headphone jack is in the front of the interface (as opposed to say, the old MBox, which had one in front and back); I tried switching the headphones to a monitor output in back, and got a signal seemingly without noise, but I couldn't get the volume up to a practical level and it only played through one ear.

So, there's my newb thread. I'd really appreciate any advice anyone could offer as I've asked musician friends and checked other forums and haven't been able to find any answers to what seems to be a very site-specific problem.

Thank you in advance for your patience

I'd suspect that your ASIO sample buffer is set too low, or your sample rate is set too high, and the demands of processing audio are overpowering your CPU.