Inexperience question: Getting the most out of effects on a VS-840

David B

I have one of the small Roland boxes and I'm trying to get the most out of it. At bare minumum, I want to use reverb and compression. I'd probably like to use some delay at some point too. But I'm unfamiliar with what order to add which effects or to what extent the limitations of the machine dictate this process.

I know a bit more about reverb than the others and I know I have to add some reverb to my dry guitar tracks etc. I have a reasonable grasp of how much to use to create the depths I want, and where you're supposed to pan it in relation to the source.

I am more in the dark about compression. I understand the theories about what it does, and why you'd want to use it. I've read recommendations about compression ratios, attack, and decay, but I have no actual experience working with it. Should I use compression on individual tracks all along the way? (and if so, should I do that before of after adding reverb or delay?) Or should I wait until the mixdown and compress the whole thing--or both?

I'm similarly inexperienced with delay. If I want to add it, when in the process do I add it (in relation to reverb and compression.)

You'll probably get a lot of responses on this, and everyone has a different way of doing things. I have several VS-880's strung together to make a 24-track studio. (I still haven't upgraded to 24-bit... *sigh*)

In terms of the VS-series recorders, I believe the effect routing goes through effect 2 and then effect 1. So, for example, if you want to add reverb AND delay to a track, you'd probably be better off putting the delay in front of the reverb (delay in EFF2 and reverb in EFF1). You simply need to use a little common sense to determine how you want effects handled. Another example would be using one of the EQ effects with reverb. You should apply the EQ before sending it to the reverb, so EQ goes in EF2 and reverb in EF1.