indexing or linking good ideas

oneArtist

Hello to those organized people out there,

There are so many valuable and helpful post made on this and other forums.
What is a good way to organize them into a developing manuel rather than
trying to remember where you saw a tip and searching or linking back to it.
Is there a prefered Word or Publisher program that would be best. I can see
giving each post a one or two word title that could be used in the index or
link. That way when I want to find it, my brain would filter back through my
way of organizing information.
As a Building Contractor, I considered it a waste of time to look through
piles of stuff to find what I needed. I developed the following systems to
keep searching to a mimimum. In a large storage area, I started at one point
and grouped all the foundation materials together. I then rotated around the
room to each developing stage of construction. For small tools and project
materials, I kept boxes. All small drywall tools went into a box. Tile tools
into another box etc. For recording, a box or file for fx filtering could be
established. Then, any tips or tools for fx filtering could be put in this
file. My question is, what is the best and easiest sytem for finding the box
or file for fx filtering?

Think about good things

Chuck

I'm a low tech kind of guy.

I print out the good threads, pu them in a binder, and use post it notes on the pages as an index. The binders reside next to the computer monitor in my studio.

Right next to my "Home Recording for DUmmies" manual;)

I keep a Word document with URL links to key fixes, ideas, or other info I might need at a later time. Each is usually a short paragraph. Searching is then easy.

Google is also a great source in general for finding PC problem solutions.

Ed

Ed,

The URL idea is good. I could do that until I get an indexing system set up. I guess I enjoy organizing things.

Think about good things

Chuck