I'm Ready to Mixdown and I sure could use some advice

drpez

I'm sorry, I did a search on this subject before I posted this, but it didn't yield the results I was hoping for.

Basically, I'm done with my mixes and I'm ready to mixdown, and from everything I've read, a good analog mixdown unit is better than a digital one. Now, I have a world class mastering engineer doing the mixdown, so I REALLY don't want to handicap him with my inexperience.

So my question is, how should I go about getting this mixed down in analog? Is this something they will do in mastering? If not, what unit would be best to accomplish this, and are there places that will just do a mixdown?

As you can tell, I'm fairly clueless on this process, and you guys have been tremendously helpful throughout this whole process for me. Thanks in advance.

umm...

your question is confusing.

are you saying you did the mix in a computer and saved it? and now you just need to bounce it, to give to the mastering engineer?

the only thing I could think of would be to rent a studio for 3 hours or something (one with a really big vintage console) and go in there with your mix (god willing they use the same software) and have them play it through the console, all faders at zero.

most likely you won't find this. unless you're running protools. if you can't find it, bouncing down in the box is fine. actually, bouncing in the box should be fine either way you slice it. if you really want that something "extra", either try to find a vintage console to run it through. you might also want to have them tweak it since you're already there.

I'd just leave it up to the mastering engineer if I was you. Sure there's talk of mix-down "outside the box" but people do it the other way all the time too. A good mastering job should be able to put the spin on it that you are probably looking for.