I'm on a Budget And I Need Better Facilities

panoramical

Hi All.
I wasn't sure where this was meant to go. I'm not really a Newbie, but I'm quite inexperienced, since all I have in terms of recording now is a Shure PG48, an M-Audio Fast Track USB and a Mini Mac with Logic Pro. I'm not happy with the results. I'm recording my guitar (Gibson Chet Atkins SST) using a direct line-in into the Fast Track, and then applying inserts with Logic. It sounds like an Acoustic Guitar (which is what I want)...sort of. But I don't feel I'm really getting anything good coming through. First Question: Is this a valid way to record a guitar, if I am looking for an Acoustic Sound? Or is this guitar simply not a guitar used for recording, and do I need to Mic a True acoustic?

This leads to my second question. I need some better gear, clearly. Can somebody tell me what sort of gear to get, considering I need a totally new interface, and perhaps some condenser/dynamic mics to record an acoustic guitar/vocals. I'm on a budget of about £250-300.

Third question. If I do need another guitar, what should I get? I'm totally in love with my guitar - it sounds beautiful live, but people tell me that if I want to record acoustically, then I should be looking for a true acoustic such as a Taylor or a Martin. I haven't got the money for a top-end Taylor, but since I am so in love with guitars, I suppose I'd be willing to spend £800-900 on a Guitar for recording. Or do I even need to get a new guitar? I do mainly light-medium strumming with a bit of fingerpicking. Is it possible to even mic a Guitar amp, using my current guitar?

I would appreciate all help I can get here regarding some new equipment!
Thanks