I'm new here, need some input on the overall sound of my mixes.

Myr

Hello!

I've been writing and recording my own material for about five years, and I have a little studio band that I work with, consisting of a drummer and myself.

Besides our regular 'band' I like to do a lot of other styles and genres, pretty much everything from metal to pop, hip-hop and some electro. Not everything is serious, but I try to put a lot of effort into it.

I have a few things that I know is lacking in my mixes, and that's uneven bass sounds. I can never control that, and I want to learn how to do it. I suspect I'm already messing up the tracking process, or have lousy bass gear.

Anyway, here are some tracks. They're all written and recorded by me. Most of them are instrumental versions of songs with vocals. Not all of them are 100% done, some are missing fills and build ups etc.

My main band: http://simenruud.com/div/sigilsep.rar - Our first EP
Electro-rock track:

Cowboy-rock / prog-pop thing:

Avant garde thing:

West-coast hip-hop attempt with east-coast vocals:

hey myr--i listened to three of the songs: on vulture (i like how the vocals and guitar solo come in on that) i didn't hear too much in the way of mix advice for the first acoustic guitar portion (once the 'rock' portion kicked in i felt like the guitar could go down 1-2 db). i did hear the uneven bass, there and on sinsmaster. but i think its really just an issue of eq. there seemed to be too much midrange.

i also listened to track 1 from the .rar but there again the issue didn't seem to be mixing (the instruments well spaced and seems to be sitting at good levels in relation to each other) but just the need to ween off some erroneous frequencies from things like the bass and drums.