I'm looking for a software Synthesizer...any recommendations?

wolf70

I'm new to music related software, so I'm coming at this from a near complete beginner status.

I was wondering if there is any synthesizer software around that I can control with my computer keyboard as opposed to a external hardware music keyboard, like you would buy at a music store. Free programs would be better to start, but low cost payware would be ok too, if they're worth the money.

I am currently doing some recording of guitar and vox and would like to add some backing synth sounds to add some more color to my sound. I don't want to have to buy an expensive keyboard to control the synth sounds, just to add a few additional backing sounds.

Any ideas of some software that I can do this with? It doesn't need to be controlled by my computer keyboard necessarily, maybe it would have it's own on-screen virtual keyboard that could be used to control which notes you want to play.

I'm just looking for a low cost and fairly easy way to add some software synth sounds to my recordings. Thanks for any helpful suggestions.

Do a search at KVR Audio.

Here's how to do it:

First, when you click the link about there will be a page with a column of options down the far left hand side of the page. Skip the first 2 ('Receptor' and 'News') and click the one that says 'Instruments, Effects, Hosts, Etc.' That will take you to a 'Database Query' page and if you scroll down you will see that there's lots of choices beneath the fold.

In order - 1a is 'general plugin/host type' --- choose 'instrument'.

1b is 'choose specific plugin/host type' --- be sure to uncheck 'all', then check as many as you want to come up in your search.

2a + 2b deal with 'hosts' - I usually check VST on both of these but I'm not sure if this really matters.

3. 'OS' -- choose your operating system - mine's Windows.

4. "Include' -- in this case you'd probably want to check 'free' only just to see what's out there.