I'm a total newbie, could I get a hand

ChoppinBroccoli

Hi, I want to set up my PC for home recording. I plan to record vocals, guitar, and bass (usually only 2 at a time), and edit them with Multitrack software such as Cakewalk, or Vegas. I also plan to add drumbeats from FruityLoops.

After much reading, I'm thinking about going with a Gadget Labs Wave/496 and a Presonus Blue Tube preamp for recording. For playback, I plan to just use my stereo.

Do you think this is a good way to do the whole recording thing, or should I get a mixer instead of a preamp? I plan to pay less than $500 for an audio card, and less than $300 for a preamp.

Currently, the Wave/496 vs. Delta 44, and the Blue Tube vs. Audio Buddy vs. Midiman DM2 battle is truly giving me a headache.

Ok, I've asked like a gazillion questions so I'll stop.

Any ideas?

Mixers are a lot more versatile, so if you ever wanted to do anything different you might have problems. Personally I think if you got a good mixer with clean sound you could always add your "warmth" later via digital...

Sweet thanks guys. Ok, I guess I'll get a Mackie then.

I can plug my guitar and bass right into the mixer right, and use them at the same time (not both played at the same time be me of course)? I mean, I wouldn't need a transformer or anything like that, would I?

For about $350 street price, you can pick up a Mackie 1202. A lot of folks here like the Berringer mixers, I'm just partial to the Macks. How many mics do you need active at one time? The 1202 has 4 mic pre's. If you need more than 4, that's where the berringers start to look attractive in the bang for your buck catagory. IMHO of course.

The dragon knows. A mixer will solve a lot of problems down the road. Im like track rat and have a mackie. You will not regret getting a mixer.

Duckhead

The dragon knows. A mixer will solve a lot of problems down the road. Im like track rat and have a mackie. You will not regret getting a mixer.