I'm a bit lost and sure would appreciate some help...

flatcat

Hello - I'm a newbie to this forum, but not a newbie to recording.

I've looked at the SAE site, at Ethan Winer's site, at John's site...and I look at my room and I'm just more confused. :)

Please forgive my inexactitude - I'm looking more for general advice, rather than specific details. Also, it's tough to lug ladders up here. :)

I mainly record myself (though I have had groups come up, and hope for more in the future). My setup is in the former attic of my house, which was finished in the 1970's. The house was built in 1888. The room itself is probably 18' x 25' on the floors, but there are a couple of built out and built in closets, so it's irregular. The room is approximately a prism in shape, except that the front has two gables. Lots of angles. The top of the ceiling - that is, the top of the roof - is probably 18' tall. The angle of the roof is quite steep - on the order of 45 degrees. There's also a chimney in the middle of the room that goes up to the roof. Other than that, the room is basically a loft-like space. The floor is linoleum over sheetrock. The walls are sheetrock or plaster. There is some carpeting on the floor. It's actually a great room to record in - but I'm finding it's hell to mix in.

My setup is in a corner of this room, basically for neatness' sake. I recently got a pair of Mackie 824s. Based on what I've read (and the pieces of it I've understood), I think I have some severe bass problems in the corner of this room. The mixes I've worked on are not translating well to other systems.

So I'm trying to figure out what the best way to approach the problem is. I'm considering:

* leaving things where they are and trying to acoustically treat the corner to the best of my ability, or