Idiots Guide To Vocals @ Home

gt2008

I was wondering if any experts on here would care to share some insight/technique with a complete novice to home vocal recording and mixing.

Here's what I'm looking for:

I record with a Rode NT-1A Condenser mic; Lexicon-Omega Preamp; and Cool Edit Pro 2.0. I apply pre-mixed instrumental tracks into "Track -1" and begin recording my vocals into "Track -2."

I have some good studio monitors, as well, but whenever I record and mix-down, I'm always sounding too "seperate" from my instrumental. If anyone can share, from A-Z, and in very lamens terms (please assume terminology is all Greek to me) the entire process you feel I should be going through, I'd greatly appreciate it!

I thank you in advance, and again, I do greatly appreciate it!

Maybe the instrumental tracks...
- are eq'd very different from the vocals making the vocals seem thin
- have way more/different reverb on them making it hard to match the reverb on the vocals thus the two sound distant from each other. Try using dry backing tracks.

:)

Maybe the instrumental tracks...
- are eq'd very different from the vocals making the vocals seem thin
- have way more/different reverb on them making it hard to match the reverb on the vocals thus the two sound distant from each other. Try using dry backing tracks.

:)

I appreciate the insight. The backing tracks I don't really have a choice over persay. But something I did gather from your thoughts, I should try and make my vocal reverb mirror the reverb on the instrumental track? Interesting.

I don't know what eq-ing is or how to eq. I simply hit record, record, try and find a good pre-set reverb or vocal effect, hit "mix down all waves" ...normalize to about 92% usually, and that's it. I'm a total novice and need a good hands-on guide with all lamen's terms, even "eq."

I do appreciate your insight!