Identifying Phase Issues

batterista

Does anyone know if there's a clip somewhere where I can hear before fixing/after fixing phase issues on drum overheads? I'm new to home recording and want to know what I'm listening for. Thanks!

Oh, and I'm recording drums in a room w/ hardwood floors, etc... 10' high ceilings, and about 15' X 20' room, one end opens to a dining room. Should I try recorderman set-up, or something wider and more open to start with? I know how to tune drums :D

You're listening for lack of bass/fullness, and/or an askew stereo image where it just doesn't sound right.

As far as whether to use Recorderman, Glyn Johns, or any other micing configuration, that doesn't depend on the room so much. Experiment and see what works best for you.

I don't have any examples, but if you're using something to record where you can see the waveforms of the tracks up close, you can manually move the tracks around to cause them to be out of phase... example, do individual hits of your snare, then kick being recorded by only two overheads... you have two tracks. Copy each track so you have two pairs of the same thing. Look at the waveforms on the first pair... when the wave hits its high peak on one, manually move the second so the peak hits down at the same time. Then AB your two sets of tracks.

Thanks 89gtsleeper. I'm recording on a Tascam 388 analog 8-track reel to reel, so I won't be able to do that. I'll get it right as I go.

I'm recording on a Tascam 388 analog 8-track reel to reel, so I won't be able to do that. I'll get it right as I go.

you can alway use your ears - play the stereo track in mono and if it's out, there'll be next to nothing to ear.
Oh, Things like Sonar make life easy - each track have a reverse phase button....alot of desks do to.

Post it in the MP3 Clinic. Somebody will tell you about it. :)