Ideal Setup

gordon_39422

Hello Everyone. I am in the market for a decent home recording platform, but really naive to the whole idea. I have been exploring options, but a few things have really raised concerns regarding my upcoming purchase. If anyone could answer any or all of the following, I would certainly appreciate the advice.

Before I begin the questions, here is some general FYI that may be useful. I am a musician and will be recording vocals, guitars, bass, and keyboards in the comfort of my home. I will either buy a drum synth, or software for the PC to cover percussive requirements. I am currently using the NVidai soundcard onboard my computer, but the quality of the recordings are tainted with a constant hum. I have discovered a thread on this forum that explains why. As such, I have been shopping for upgrades to my computer to include an audio interface, soundcard, and better software. I have a spare 400mhz computer and would like to configure it for primary use as a recording platform. If any other information is needed to fabricate more precise responses, please ask and I will answer to the best of my abilities.

1) With the release of Digital Workstations, is it lucrative to purchase all the other PC based equipment? Is the quality of these workstations decent? I.E.- Boss BR Series, Fostex, etc...
2) Will a 400mhz clock support the hig-demands of recording multi-tracks? I know that RAM is more of an issue, but I will max the uprgadability of my RAM. I believe my mother board will only support up to 128bit. Is that sufficient?
3) If PC is the most practical route, then which soundcard and software would give me the greatest flexibility for the best price. I have had my eye on the Omni-Studio with the Delta66 card. As far as sofware goes, I am completely ignorant, but was impressed with a particular Cakewalk package.

Thank you again for your time and contributions. Have a Great Weekend!
Allen

gordon_39422 said: