I need soundproofing advise.

soundmaster

Does anyone know what I can use to sound proof a small garage?
I 'm on a buget Right know, I can't aford to buy that expensive studio foam.
Is there cheaper material I can get at a Wallmart, home depot, carpet dealers, ect.
I'm new at soundprofing, I realize its better to pay top dollar for soundprofing material, but I can't afford it right now.
Can anyone help me out with some advise, links, anything?:confused:

I don't know THAT much about sound proofing, BUT you need to know what you want. Are you sound proofing because your neighbors are getting angry about noise levels, or are you just trying to make your room sound better? There's different approaches to each of these.

soundmasters reply

I live in a small town that has a poupulation of about 20,000 people.
I live close to the down town area, & the law is pretty strick with the noise, like loud car stereos, loud parties etc....
I have a small 1 car garage, I don't think it would take a lot of materials to get the job done.
I don't want any noise to get out, & there is a train track thats runs about a block down the street, & the train can get really loud at times.
This garage is about the size of a storage unit that can fit one car.
If this makes any sense, & you can help guide me in the right direction, that would be cool!
Well I got to go. THANKS soundmaster

Wrong answer! Keeping the noise in seems to be the more expensive of the two. I've been dealing with the acoustics of my control room and it's actually not very expensive. (No construction required) You probably need to do the room inside a room technique. That should help a lot but I can't really offer any advice. Hopefully someone on here will answer because you can get a lot of good help...I know I have.

Executivos said: