I Need Help!!!

roachguitar

I am brand new at all this recording stuff. Ive done alot (and i mean a TON) of research on home recording. I now have a better knowledge than at first, but still a little foggy.
I have read in several paces the Cake Walk Sonar 6XL software is great for my PC. But does this mean i need a multitrack recorder also?
I really need someone to just tell me some pretty decent equipment to get. But I hear me when i say decent. But i would also like to keep my budget below $700, although i feel uncomfortable saying that.
I am a newbie at all this so please give me some pointers!!!
Thanx

Sonar is great software.
With Sonar home studio you have the ability to multi track record. However, you don't have to.

I would suggest just buying the software (or even cheaper software) and recording with your computers built in "Line input." You can dub over as many tracks as you want in the software. Sonar is great because you can use your line in and then when you do get an interface you don't need to upgrade.

A multi track interface will allow you to record more tracks simultaneously.
ex. A drum set with 8 mic's on it.
However, even if you get a cheap multi track recorder, you will have to spend a lot of money in things like cables, mic's and stands. These may not be expensive if you need one or two, but for 8 mic cables you can easily already be paying $100, before mic's and stands.

I would say start with your line in and record through a small cheap mixer.(Behringer actually makes some really cheap boards that come with a USB interface, known as the XENYX mixers.) Don't buy an interface until you know exactly what you want to do, and make sure you have the money to not only purchase the interface but also the mic's, cables, stands etc. that are often overlooked when your tallying prices.