i need help on my song

fivestarpacheco

ok my song sounds good on my mixing speaker (dynoaudio acoustics bm 5A) but when i play it in the car the vocals just dont stand out and the instrumental is some what distorted i tried lowering the levels but i just cant get it. maybe im missing something maybe more eq or something someone give me some tips im using sonar 8 producer edition and also if my songs sounds like its missing anything let me know it will be greatly appreciated.
its my first time ever mixing
here it is.....
Only For Tonight.mp3 - 2.1 Mb

try mixing again with crap speakers then headphones then earphones etc...

u'll get a feel for what is going to work in the general home. also the car test is a really good one.

remember to account for the fact that the speakers u use for mixing will probably be better than what the cd will end being played on.

getting a cd to sound good in a car is tricky so if u can well done!

for ur song the lower end clarity is kind of questionable and that'll be tricky in the car where there is allot of low freq' interference and a very small space.
it seens to lack "body" from hi bass and mid-range just needs filling out a bit maybe.

but i'm really just looking for stuff question there. try an eq with a bit more mid/low range and try to clear up the bass with a bit less/more compression. it does sound very produced but i am more of an acoustic man myself so that may just be the style.

good luck

The car test is a very good one. I heard dizzy rascal has an old tv in his studio to test his tracks on! lol

I actually don't think your vocals are the issue here, they sound great, despite it not being my personal preference in style, but sound wise, really bloody good job man!

What I'm hearing though is that everything is very central in the mix. I think you'll get more clarity being braver with your pans and perhaps even a little stereo manipulation if you can manage it, really deepen the mix out.