I need advice

SSgtP

Good day,

I am a guitarist, just beginning to enter the world of home recording. I need advice on what type of drums I should get. I'm split between an acoustic kit, and an electric kit. On one hand, I could get a decent acoustic kit at reasonable cost, but I would need to make a drastic investment in mic's to get a decent recorded sound (am I on track here). On the other hand, an electric kit would give me a (hopefully) good recorded sound, but IMO you really sacrifice feel/playability. Honestly, I am leaning a bit towards the electronic kit. Any words of wisdom out there?

Thanks
P

I've recorded both extensivly and I have to tell you, I REALLY don't like electric drums. Especially the cymbals and hats. Just my humble opinion.

Electric drums + Real cymbals combo would work nicely. You would get the sound of real cymbals and the electric drums don't sound TOO bad, but they don't beat a good acoustic set.

Keijo

Track Rat,
Yeah, I was playing on a friends Roland kit. The cymbals were no where near the real thing. I must admit though that they sound really good on all the recording that he has done. I mean, they do sound a bit artificial, but not bad at all.

P

in my opinion, i think electric kits sound pretty bad. i find that the snares just dont have that "thing" to them that the acoustic kits have. yeah, problems with cymbals and hi-hats too.

if you're looking to rent the studio out, not many drummers like electric kits so it may be wise to plan out what you're using it for. personally, i think they dont sound that great, and most of the time i can tell that it's an electric kit just by hearing the snare and hi-hat