I need a good quality mic for YouTube videos ($500 max)

tezebe

Hi, I am looking for a good microphone and can't seem to find any good resource that explains what I need and how to choose wisely. About 6 months ago I bought a RØDE mic and it is horrible. I paid around $150 and it is so bad, but I've been using it since then because I had no other choice. It's actually made to be connected to DSLRs, but I've been using it on my computer.

But anyway. I need a good one under $500. Even $500 is a bit much, but I am willing to pay it if it's worth the extra mile. I record drawing tutorials on YouTube, and if the audio quality is poor, I lose a lot of production value. So, one of those radio DJ microphones, with one of those metalic hand that can be brought to my mouth while drawing. And I can't find anything conclusive anywhere, since I'm not an expert in this field at all.

Please if you can help with your advice, let me know what microphone your recommend, as well as what auxiliary gear I need. Such as the "metalic hand" (I don't know the actual name for it), the round black foam thing, the mixer thing that powers it with "phantom power" (I've read a little bit about that but still can't wrap my head around it), etc.

Thank you!

Unless you're looking for "pro" audio, you should be able to do youtube vids (which are highly compressed) with just an SM58 and an ART USB Dual Pre interface (under $200 total). That, a stand, and a variety of colored windscreens (to keep your fanbase guessing) should be a bit of fun.
I'm assuming your $150 mic was the NT model. What sounds "horrible"? can you post clips? are you using headphones to monitor yourself? Does the mike end up in the videos?

Hey,
What kind of restrictions are in place? Can you have a mic right up in your face or would you prefer not to for video purposes?
Are you touchy about hearing keyboard/mouse clicks in the video, if you'll be using the computer whilst recording?