I have the stuff...now what?! Help please

charlottetat

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to home recording, so if irritating questions from newbies are not your thing, then turn back now cos I have a VERY basic question to ask you:

I decided to start home recording, so I found out what I needed and bought:

A decent puter
Alesis Amp
Behringer Eurorack Mixer
A large diaphragm condensor mic
Some moniters

Now the software I have is logic audio, reason and cakewalk audio.

I've pretty much got to grips with reason but I just CAN'T figure out how to record on any of the sequencer progs. I've tried the tutorials but it seems they are aimed at people who already KNOW the basics, I think I've got everything plugged in right cos I can record using the windows sound recorder, but when I try on Logic or Cakewalk - nothing!...so any help would be greatly appreciated :)

p.s. is a large diaphragm condensor mic going to be OK to record double bass with?

Ta!

Yo Charlottetat, and welcome to the board! First, I know diddly about Cakewalk and Reason, so I'll leave that question for someone that has a clue. As far as double bass- What you have asked is, " I've got a piece of rubber. Will it work OK for a hockey puck?" Double bass is an instrument that can be mic'd in a bunch of different ways. with condensers, small diaphragm or large, dynamics, or ribbon mics. And there are many, many, types of large diaphragm condensers with different characteristics.