--I don't have monitors, I do have a Sony stereo tho--

TwistOvFate

I'm new to recording and i'm broke to the point where i won't be near any monitors for a while. Would using a stereo system like this be beneficial while mixing songs, or am i just wasting my time?? Sony stereo system. . .if it is, what should i set the eq on the stereo
for in terms of(highs, mids, and lows) they spand from -6 to +6
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my stereo system won't work, what should i use to mix my tracks until i can afford monitors ?? Any advice will help, thanx for the advice

Hi man.

I for one find myself always putting things off until i get better gear, but better gear doesn't make me a better engineer.

Just start mixing with what ya got.

Set the eq as flat as possible.

Most home consumer systems are untrue in the bottom end.

If you really need to go ahead and mix with these babies then spend a bit of time setting the speakers up and look into acoustically treating your room.

http://www.musicplayer.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=forum&f=26&

Expensive speakers set up in an acoustically compromised room are of no real use anyhow.

But if you spend some time setting up your speakers and read a little about the acoustics at Ethans web site, it should get you by.

The whole benefit of a good monitoring environment is to assist you in producing songs that translate well.

In your scenario you might have do a few reference mixdowns and listen to them on as many playback systems as possible.

It also might be hard to hear the effects of compressors and eq's effectively.

But still just jump in and go for.

The money for new speakers will arrive when when you need them,

The good news is, you're not wasting your time. At least you have speakers.

Just set em flat flat flat. Meaning:

-Don't set any "enhancements" such as a super bass setting or some kind of surround setting.